APC in Surulere Federal Constituency 1 begins the process to nominate a replacement for Femi Gbajabiamila

The All Progressives Congress in Surulere Federal Constituency 1 will this morning kick off the process of nominating a replacement for former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rt Hon Femi Gbajabiamila.

Gbajabiamila resigned his membership of the 10th House of Representatives on June 14. The current Speaker of the House, Rt Hon Tajudeen Abbas, read Gbajabiamila’s letter of resignation during plenary. In the letter, Gbajabiamila said his resignation is to enable him to assume the role of Chief of Staff to President Bola Tinubu.

Following INEC’s release of the Time Table for the conduct of Re-run and Bye-Election in some federal Constituencies, the Surulere chapter of the APC will conduct a Ward Delegate Congress this morning in preparation for the party’s primary tomorrow, Saturday.

Four Aspirants within APC are jostling to replace Femi Gbajabiamila, including Hon Kabir Lawal, Hon Fuad Laguda, Hon Raheem Owokoniran, and Dr Adebomi Adebayo.

Some of the centers where the Ward Delegate Congress will hold include Obele Oniwala playing ground, Nathan Primary school, New Era secondary School, and Owolewa Open space in the area.

Meanwhile, the Labour Party has said that it will conduct a credible primary election to produce a candidate capable of winning the Surulere Federal Constituency I bye-election slated for February 3, 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyrigth bbb